Copyright � 2005 - 2016
Kentucky Society of
Certified Public Managers
All rights reserved.





Gene Childress served as the first Executive Director of the Governmental Services Center (GSC) (now known as the Office of Government Training, OGT) beginning in 1981 and instituted a training program that later became affiliated with the Certified Public Manager� Consortium.  Because of Childress' history with and support of the Kentucky Certified Public Managers� program, the Gene W. Childress Leadership Award was created to honor like-minded individuals.  This prestigious award recognizes outstanding leadership in government.

2021 Recipient

Governor Andy Beshear received the Childress Award from Jennifer Woods (Awards Chair) and JuJuana Leavell-Greene (KSCPM President).

Secretary of State Michael Adams received the Childress Award from Jennifer Woods (Awards Chair) and JuJuana Leavell-Greene (KSCPM President).


2017 Recipient

Larry Totten received the Childress Award from Eric Garner, KSCPM President.


2016 Recipient

Jennifer Woods, Awards Chair, and JoJuana Leavell-Geene, Recipient.


2015 Recipient

Jennifer Woods, Past President/Awards Chair; Governor Martha Layne Collins, Recipient; Jennifer Woods, 2015 President.


2014 Recipient

Kentucky Society of Certified Public Managers� presents former Cabinet Secretary Robert D. Vance with Gene W. Childress Leadership Award.

Pictured (left to right): Cassidy Connell, KSCPM Awards Committee chair; Holly McCoy-Johnson, executive director, Office of General Administration and Program Support; Robert D. Vance, award winner; Dana Hawkins, executive staff assistant, and LaTasha Buckner, policy advisor, Office of the Secretary - Public Protection Cabinet.


2013 Recipient

Colmon Elridge, III was present the
Gene W. Childress Leadership Award by Robinil Jameson.


2012 Recipient

Representative Derrick W. Graham
presenting is 2011 KSCPM President, Jennifer Wood.


2011 Recipient

Susan G. Smith received the Award from
Jennifer Wood, 2011 President.


2010 Recipient

Tony Smith presents the Award to former Governor Paul E. Patton 


2009 Recipient

Recipient is Michael W. Hancock, Acting Secretary of the Transportation Cabinet; presenter is Tony Smith, 2008 KSCPM President.


2008 Recipient

Leonard Cieslak with the Cabinet for Health & Family Services


2007 Recipient

Robinil Jameson, 2007 President, and
Tony Smith, 2008 President and Childress Award winner.


2006 Recipient
J.R. Brown, KSCPM Past-President


2004 Recipient
Greg Bell
of the Kentucky Revenue Cabinet

KSCPM President Thomas and Greg Bell


2003 Recipient:
Commissioner John W. Bizzack

of the Department of Criminal Justice Training

KSCPM President Wood, Commissioner Bizzack,
Gene Childress, and AACPM President Larry Totten